You missed this – Subscribe & Avoid FOMO!
Lunaire Collective: Mozart in Memoriam


Wed 20 Mar 2013, 7:00pm–8:00pm

Where: Conservatorium Theatre, Griffith University, 140 Grey Street, South Bank, Queensland

Restrictions: All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Adult: $15.00
  • Concession: $10.00
  • Additional fees may apply


Listed by: qldconmarketing

Following the success of their October 2012 concert of new compositions for wind quintet by local Brisbane composers, the Lunaire Collective, Ensemble In Residence at Queensland Conservatorium Griffith University, will once again turn the spotlight to music for winds and piano. This time around, works by Smit and Mihajlovic will be paired with a much-loved piece from the repertoire for large wind ensemble, Mozart’s Serenade No 12 for Wind Octet.

A triptych of works for winds and piano, highlighting the variety of colour and emotion that can be portrayed with this instrumentation, and showcasing the musical expertise of this versatile ensemble, the Lunaire Collective.

The Lunaire Collective:
Patrick Nolan – flute
Eve Newsome – oboe
Rianne Wilschut – clarinet
Nicole Tait – bassoon
Ysolt Clark – french horn
Stephen Emmerson – piano

Special Guests:
Glenn Prohasky – bassoon
Stephanie Dixon – oboe
Reuben Fenemore – clarinet
Marielle Allan – french horn

Mozart Serenade No 12 in C minor
Mihajlović Eine Kleine Trauermusik (Australian Premiere)
Smit Sextet for piano and wind quintet (Australian Premiere)

Mozart’s Serenade No 12 in C minor, sometimes called ‘Nachtmusick’, consists of four movements, with the third movement ‘Menuet & Trio’ a wonderful example of intricate canonic writing featuring two oboes.

This is the Australian premiere of ‘Eine kleine Trauermusik’ (1990) by Serbian composer Mihajlović. This work was dedicated to the bicentenary of Mozart’s death – a true In Memoriam – and was awarded first prize at the International Review of Composers in 1992.

Smit (1900 – 1943): Sextet for piano and wind quintet – Australian Premiere performance
The life of Dutch composer and pianist Smit was tragically cut short during World War II at the age of 42. His Sextet for piano and wind quintet (1933) is bright, vibrant and lyrical, resembling the style of French contemporaries Milhaud and Honegger.