You missed this – Subscribe & Avoid FOMO!
2018 Hatched Summer School Concerts


Thu 13 Dec 2018, 7:00pm–9:00pm
Fri 14 Dec 2018, 7:00pm–9:00pm

Where: Glebe Town Hall, 160 St John's Rd, Glebe, New South Wales

Restrictions: All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • General Admission: $32.50
  • Concession: $21.50
  • Additional fees may apply


Listed by: admin326

Held in the inner city suburb of Glebe from 10-14 December 2018 our first ever summer school is a new five-day intensive program.

The 6 composers selected from a large pool of applicants from around the country will partake in instrumental workshops with core Ensemble Offspring members, one-on-one mentoring with the three composition mentors, Matthew Shlomowitz, Cathy Milliken and Amanda Cole, as well as peer sessions, group improvisations, round table discussions and two public evening concerts which you are invited to attend!

Our final ‘Closing Music’ concert features the Australian premiere of ‘Lecture About Bad Music’ narrated by Matthew Shlomowitz himself, a duo for voice and piano sung by composer Cathy Milliken with Zubin Kanga and world premieres by Amanda Cole and Andrew Ford. Come along and meet the six selected participants: Joe O’Connor (Vic), Samantha Wolf (Vic), Josten Myburgh (WA), Jakob Bragg (Vic), Solomon Frank (NSW) and Kirsten Milenko (NSW/Denmark).


Thursday 7pm – Open Music
Improvised and open music performances by Hatched Summer School composition participants Joe O’Connor (Vic), Samantha Wolf (Vic), Josten Myburgh (WA), Jakob Bragg (Vic), Solomon Frank (NSW) and Kirsten Milenko (NSW/Denmark) along with mentors Matthew Shlomowitz, Cathy Milliken, Amanda Cole and members of Ensemble Offspring.

Friday 7pm – Closing Music
Amanda Cole – New work for flute, clarinet, violin, piano, percussion 8’
Cathy Milliken – Objects for voice & piano 14′
Andrew Ford – Jezebel for soprano & percussion 14′
Matthew Shlomowitz – Lecture About Bad Music for violin, clarinet, keyboard, electric guitar & narrator 40′

Matthew Shlomowitz (narrator)
Jane Sheldon (soprano)
Cathy Milliken (voice)
Zubin Kanga (piano/keyboard)
Jason Noble (clarinet)
Veronique Serret (violin)
Claire Edwardes (percussion)
Joe Fallon (electric guitar)