You missed this – Subscribe & Avoid FOMO!
Ku-ring-gai Philharmonic – Tchaikovsky & Prokofiev


Sat 3 Nov 2018, 7:30pm–9:30pm

Where: The Concourse, 409 Victoria Avenue, Chatswood, New South Wales

Restrictions: All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Adult: $40.00
  • Pensioner: $30.00
  • Student/Junior: $12.00
  • Additional fees may apply

The widely appreciated Ku-ring-gai Philharmonic Orchestra will be presenting its next concert in the marvellous acoustic of The Concourse, featuring two heavy-weights of the great orchestral repertoire: Debussy's La Mer, and Prokofiev's vast epic Alexander Nevsky.

For Prokofiev, Ku-ring-gai Philharmonic Orchestra will be joined by mezzo soprano Barbara Jin, the Willoughby Symphony Choir and Barker College/Abbotsleigh choirs, allowing audiences to be part of the full scale orchestral and choral sound experience but up close and personal.

Complementing the program are the impressionistic seascapes of Debussy's 'La Mer', 'Eggshell' by local composer and participant in the 2016 KPO Young Composers' Workshops; Kezia Yap, a beautiful, delicate piece which will touch your emotions; and the familiar and virtuosic 'Variations on a Rococo Theme' by Tchaikovsky will be performed by phenomenal prodigy, 14-year old Benett Tsai on cello. Benett takes his place beside many other now famous performers as Outstanding Performer in KPO's 2017 Secondary Schools Concerto Competition, playing the artistically demanding Elgar Cello Concerto.

All under the direction of conductor Peter Ellis, KPO brings you music from the intimate to the expansive, from emerging composers and performers to works which have stood the test of time.

For more information about the concert, performers, and to book tickets, please visit Ku-ring-gai Philharmonic Orchestra website.

Peter Ellis: Conductor
Benett Tsai: Violoncello
Barbara (Yuanyuan) Jin: Mezzo soprano
With the Willoughby Symphony Choir and choirs from Barker College and Abbotsleigh

Debussy: La Mer
Tchaikovsky: Variations on a Rococo Theme Op 33
Kezia Yap: eggshell
Prokofiev: Alexander Nevsky