Do you sell tickets for an event, performance or venue?
Find out more about Eventfinda Ticketing.

You missed this – Subscribe & Avoid FOMO!
Women's Leadership Symposium 2018


Thu 21 Jun 2018, 9:00am–5:30pm
Fri 22 Jun 2018, 9:00am–3:10pm

Where: Shangri-La Hotel, 176 Cumberland Street, The Rocks, New South Wales

Restrictions: All Ages

Listed by: Melita Ferguson

The Women's Leadership Symposium creates a setting for accomplished and aspiring women leaders to reflect on their own journeys and explore leadership, life and career development. Through exposure to state-of-the-art leadership thinking, delegates will come away from the event better equipped and empowered for the road ahead.

Addressing issues of leadership and career, the Symposium is an important chance to stay abreast of current Australian and international leadership trends. Engaging subject matter boosts participant leadership capacity while informative case studies and keynote addresses enhance the experience by examining key issues pertaining to the ongoing development of Australia's female leaders. The first day includes a panel discussion on how much of the time and money spent on diversity programs has focused on fixing women instead of addressing the bias and discrimination woven through daily practices and attitudes. The panel will explore how to change the rules and norms to give women a fair go, what a successful intervention looks like, and how to get around backlash to action. Day one will also see an interactive development session on being brave, adaptive and experimental and avoiding sticking to one narrow story about what makes us effective and authentic. On the second day, there will be a panel discussion on leveraging growth opportunities for female talent.

The Symposium offers an unsurpassed forum for delegates to grow their networks far beyond their industries and local communities and to develop lasting relationships with like-minded women.

...And be inspired!
This prestigious event showcases some of Australia's most outstanding leaders from a diverse range of fields including politics, media, sport, retail, police, public service, health and finance. The New South Wales Winner of the 2018 Australian Award for Excellence in Women's Leadership will be announced at the Symposium in honour of their contributions to the advancement of gender equality in New South Wales.

The phenomenal speaker line-up includes:

- Rt Hon Dame Jenny Shipley DNZM PC – Former New Zealand Prime Minister
- Ita Buttrose AO OBE – Legendary media trailblazer, Businesswoman, Best-Selling Author, Committed community and welfare contributor and 2013 Australian of the Year
- Jamila Rizvi – Author, Columnist, Host and Commentator
- Catherine Fox – Journalist, Author and Presenter
- Marina Go – Chair, West Tigers NRL Club, Non Executive Director and Author
- Robyn Davidson - Author of Tracks, and Traveller
- Angela Pippos – Author, Sports Journalist and TV/Radio Presenter
- Anthea Muir – CEO and Group President, OPSM/Luxottica
- Janelle Hopkins – Chief Financial Officer, Australia Post
- Deputy Commissioner Catherine Burn APM – Deputy Commissioner, NSW Police Force
- Assistant Commissioner Rosemary Hegner ASM FAIM – Director, NSW Health Emergency Management Unit, Ambulance Service NSW
- Kristal Kinsela – Entrepreneur, 2017 NSW Aboriginal Woman of the Year, Director, Indigenous Professional Services
- Professor Rae Cooper – Associate Dean (Programs), University of Sydney Business School
- Amna Karra-Hassan – Founder and President, Auburn Giants AFL Club and works in the Community Liaision team at the AFP
- Professor Spencer Beasley – Vice President, Royal Australasian College of Surgeons
- Tammy Medard – Head of Diversified Industries & Global Subsidiaries Institutional Banking Australia, ANZ
- Nicola Hazell – Head of Diversity and Impact Programs, BlueChilli and SheStarts
- Dr Terrance Fitzsimmons – Managing Director, Australian Gender Equality Council
- Jane Counsel – Principal Diversity Consultant, Executive Central

Professor Gillian Triggs, Former President of the Australian Human Rights Commission (2012-2017) will be acknowledged as the New South Wales state winner of the 2018 Australian Award for Excellence in Women's Leadership.