Australasian Orchestra: Shostakovich Symphony 11

Where: James Tatoulis Auditorium, 207 Barkers Road Kew Victoria, Kew, Victoria

Restrictions: 15+

Ticket Information:

  • Adult - purchase online or at the door: $30.00
  • Concession - purchase online or at the door: $25.00
  • Under 18yrs - purchase online or at the door: $20.00
  • Groups of 6 - purchase online only: $132.00
  • Buy Tickets – 04 9924 1234
  • Additional fees may apply

Under its chief conductor Robert Dora, Dmitri Shostakovich’s magnificent and powerful Symphony No.11 ('The Year 1905') will be the featured work for this concert which promises to be one of Melbourne’s most exciting and spectacular symphonic events of 2019.

A phenomenal piece of ‘program music’, this symphony is one of the most inspired, dramatic and challenging works that Shostakovich composed. It portrays the events in Russia of the horrendous year of 1905 in which the protest march of workers, students and intellectuals in St. Petersburg Square was brutally crushed by Tsarist forces.

The orchestra will also perform two rarely performed works, the picturesque ‘Colonial Song’ by Percy Grainger and the delightfully fascinating, ‘Above Ground’ Concerto for Percussion & Orchestra by Australian composer Robert Davidson. The percussion soloist will be the well-known and widely admired Melbourne percussionist Brent Miller.

People who liked this also checked out