Do you sell tickets for an event, performance or venue?
Find out more about Eventfinda Ticketing.

Nominees Revealed and Polls Now Open For The Age Victoria Music Awards 2017

Friday 13 October 2017

Nominees Revealed and Polls Now Open For The Age Victoria Music Awards 2017

After dropping a stellar after-party line-up, The Age Music Victoria Awards now revealed the full lists of nominees for each category. Starting today until Friday 10 November, fans can vote for their favourite acts, releases, venues and festivals within the 13 publicly voted category awards. A bunch of acts are also nominated in the 11 genre-specific awards, which, on the other hand, will be voted on by a select panel of industry experts.

Nominees for Public Voting are as follows:

Best Album
A.B Original – Reclaim Australia
Big Smoke – Time Is Golden
Cable Ties – Self Titled
Jen Cloher – Self-Titled
RVG – A Quality of Mercy

Best Band
A.B. Original
Cable Ties
King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard
The Teskey Brothers

Best Song
A.B. Original – January 26
Cable Ties – Say What You Mean
King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard – Rattlesnake
RVG – A Quality of Mercy
The Smith Street Band – Death To The Lads

Best Female
Ali Barter
Freya Josephine Hollick
Jen Cloher
Meg Mac
Tash Sultana

Best Male
D.D Dumbo
Dan Sultan
Paul Kelly
Tim Rogers

Best Emerging Act
Alexander Biggs
Amyl & The Sniffers
Cable Ties
The Teskey Brothers

Best Live Act
A.B. Original
Cable Ties
Cash Savage & The Last Drinks
King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard
Peep Tempel

Best Venue – Under 500 Capacity
The Curtin
The Gasometer
The Old Bar
The Tote

Best Venue – Over 500 Capacity
170 Russell
The Corner Hotel
Croxton Band Room
The Forum
Melbourne Recital Centre

Best Festival
Boogie Festival
Golden Plains
Meredith Music Festival
Sugar Mountain

Best Regional Venue – Under 50 Gigs Per Year
The Bridge Hotel (Castlemaine)
Meeniyan Town Hall (Meeniyan)
Music On The Hill (Red Hill)
Pier Bandroom (Frankston)
Theatre Royal (Castlemaine)

Best Regional Venue – Over 50 Gigs Per Year
Baha Tacos (Rye)
Barwon Club (Geelong)
The Eastern Hotel (Ballarat)
Karova Lounge (Ballarat)
Workers Club (Geelong)

Best Regional Act
Benny Walker
Coda Chroma
Cosmic Psychos
D.D Dumbo
Freya Josephine Hollick

Nominees for Genre Awards (Voted by a select industry panel):

Best Country Album
Big Smoke – "Time Is Golden"
Freya Josephine Hollick – "The Unceremonious Junking Of Me"
Matt Joe Gow – "Seven Years”
Raised By Eagles – "I Must Be Somewhere”
Small Town Romance – “Self-Titled”

Best Electronic Act
Client Liaison
Dom Dolla
Harvey Sutherland
The Journey

Best Experimental/Avant-Garde Act
Byron Scullin
James Hullick
Miyuki Jokiranta
Nat Grant
Winter Sound School/Bridget Chappell

Best Folk Or Roots Album
Jed Rowe – “A Foreign Country”
Jordie Lane and The Sleepers – “Glassellland”
Leah Senior – “Pretty Faces”
The Mae Trio – “Take Care Take Cover”
Sophie Koh – “Book of Songs”

Best Global/Reggae Act
Amaru Tribe – “Amaru Tribe”
The Bombay Royale – “Run Kitty Run”
George Telek, David Bridie & Musicians of the Gunantuna – “A Bit Na Ta”
Lamine Sonko and the African Intelligence – “Afro Empire”
Papa Chango – “The Lost Moon of Bellaris”

Best Heavy Album
Batpiss – “Rest in Piss”
Clowns – “Lucid Again”
Divide and Dissolve – “Basic”
Dødknell – “Hatred. Absolute”
Mammoth Mammoth – “Mount the Mountain”

Best Hip Hop Album
A.B Original – “Reclaim Australia”
Birdz – “Train of thought”
Must Volkoff – “Aquanaut”
Pez – ”Don't Look Down”
Remi – “Divas & Demons”

Best Jazz Album
Brenton Foster – “The Nature of Light”
Fem Belling – “Now Then”
Paul Grabowsky/Mirko Guerrini/Niko Schauble – “Torrio!”
Senegambian Jazz Band – “Self Titled”
Speedball – “We Have Moved”

Best Soul, Funk, RnB and Gospel Album
Cookin’ On 3 Burners – “Lab Experiments Vol 1”
Lance Ferguson – “Raw Material”
The Meltdown – “The Meltdown”
Silver Linings – “So Good To You”
The Teskey Brothers – “Half Mile Harvest”

Best Aboriginal Act
A.B Original
Archie Roach
Benny Walker
Dan Sultan

Best Blies Album
Benny & The Fly By Niters – “Watch Yourself”
Dan Dinnen – “Keep on Stirrin’ The Pot”
Fiona Boyes – “Professin The Blues”
Lloyd Spiegel – “This Time Tomorrow”
White Lightnin’ – “Mongrel Blood”

Vote here and be automatically qualified into a draw to win an exciting awards prize pack!