Do you sell tickets for an event, performance or venue?
Find out more about Eventfinda Ticketing.

You missed this – Subscribe & Avoid FOMO!
John Montesante Dectet


Wed 27 Mar 2019, 7:45pm–10:00pm

Where: Bird's Basement, 11 Singers Lane, Melbourne CBD, Victoria

Restrictions: All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Starting from: $32.00
  • Additional fees may apply


Listed by: Bird's Basement

The John Montesante Dectet is a quality 10-piece Jazz band, playing charts written for this lineup by one of Australia's most experienced jazz musicians, trumpeter and arranger John Montesante. For this show, the Dectet will present their 'From Blue Note To Bop' show, featuring two special guest vocalists, Alinta Chidzey and Craig Schneider.

John is perhaps best known for his work with iconic soul/R&B band, The Grand Wazoo (now in its 38th year). He also led and wrote arrangements for the Café Society Orchestra (1989–2009). With the Dectet, John returns to his first love in jazz, the bebop and hard bop styles. Essentially, the Dectet is an extension of John's popular quintet (JMQ), formed in 1990 and still going strong. The extra horns give John flexibility to add denser harmonies and alternative lines within his arrangements.

Alinta Chidzey is a bandleader in her own right (Alinta & The Jazz Emperors, The Hook Turn Orchestra), and a successful stage performer. Her portrayal of Anita in West Side Story received nominations for a Helpmann Award, Green Room Award, Sydney Theatre Award two GLUGS Awards—and won the Australian Dance Award for Most Outstanding Performance. Alinta's work in 'Chess' won a Green Room Award for Best Female Artist in a Supporting Role.

Craig Schneider is a multi-award-winning pianist, vocalist, arranger and musical director. He spent several years in London, where he became the resident pianist at the Savoy, and also performed frequently at the Dorchester and Claridges.

'From Blue Note To Bebop' features John's arrangements of jazz classics like 'Tell Me A Bedtime Story', 'Nica's Dream', 'Round Midnight', 'Boplicity', 'You'd Be So Nice To Come Home To', 'Don't Misunderstand', 'Stolen Moments' and 'Dearly Beloved'.

Michael Fraser (lead trumpet), John Montesante (trumpet), Andrew Serpell (trombone), Tim Wilson (alto sax), Tony Hicks (tenor sax), Ben Hughes (baritone sax), Craig Schneider (piano, vocals), Craig Fermanis (guitar), Tom Lee (bass), David Hicks (drums), Alinta Chidzey (vocals).