Do you sell tickets for an event, performance or venue?
Find out more about Eventfinda Ticketing.

You missed this – Subscribe & Avoid FOMO!
The Monash Academy Orchestra: Russian Masters


Sun 14 Apr 2019, 2:30pm–4:00pm

Where: Robert Blackwood Hall - Monash University, Wellington Rd, Clayton, Victoria

Restrictions: All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Admission: Free
How does this work?
Glad you asked!
  • Choose LatitudePay
    at the checkout
    There's no extra cost to you - just select it as your
    payment option.
  • Approval in
    Set up your account and we'll tell you straight away
    if approved.
  • Get it now.
    10 weekly payments
    It's the today way to pay, just 10 easy payments.
    No interest. Ever.
If you're new to LatitudePay, you'll need this stuff:
  • Be over 18 years old
  • An Australian driver’s licence or passport
  • A couple of minutes to sign up,
    it’s quick and easy
  • A credit/debit card (Visa or Mastercard)


Listed by: mapa

It’s strange to think that we can now comfortably enjoy as ‘favourites’, two works that were born of extreme mental anguish. The ‘Rach 2’ today allows the listener to luxuriate in the bitter sweetness of its tender lyrical moments or breathe in its sorrowful majesty, but it was written, with the aid of a therapist, by a composer struggling with profound depression.

Tchaikovsky’s spectacular Symphony No. 4 has long been a popular hit, but its calm moments are rare, and it seethes with the artist’s neurotic obsessions and catastrophic thinking. Even its thrilling, lightning-paced finale seems to border on the unhinged.

Pianist Po Goh, who wowed audiences when he won the 2018 Sir Zelman Cowen School of Music’s Concerto Competition, takes on the Rachmaninov and the two titanic works are led by prodigiously gifted Australian conductor Jessica Cottis. A new commission by dynamic young Sydney composer Holly Harrison is an exciting bonus on the program. She knows a thing or two about mania as well: witness her piece Balderdash (repeatedly outed at the recent Melbourne International Chamber Music competition) which turns a string quartet into a crazy shredding electric guitar solo.

Jessica Cottis: Conductor
Po Goh: Piano

Holly Harrison: New Work (world premiere)
Rachmaninoff: Piano Concerto No.2 in C minor
Tchaikovsky: Symphony No.4 in F minor