Do you sell tickets for an event, performance or venue?
Find out more about Eventfinda Ticketing.

Chart wrap-up: Pink, Guy Sebastian and The Sapphires dominate!

Monday 20 August 2012

Chart wrap-up: Pink, Guy Sebastian and The Sapphires dominate!

Sony has enjoyed a fantastic week. Between Pink holding onto #1 at radio, Guy debuting with his sixth #1 single and The Sapphires soundtrack really taking off, they have nothing to complain about!


The top of the chart remains the same as it did last week, with Pink’s Blow Me (One Last Kiss), Maroon 5’s One More Night and Fun.’s Some Nights still locked down in #1, #2 and #3 respectively. Just below, Justice Crew’s Boom Boom has cracked the Top 5 (up from #6 to #4) solidifying their #1 spot on the TMN Australian Airplay Chart, which they now hold for a fourth week.

Owl City and Carly Rae Jepsen’s Good Time has taken the place of Boom Boom, moving up from #12. It’s been two-and-a-half years since Owl City was last in the Top 10 of the Hot 100. For those playing along at home, yes, it was with Fireflies and it spent a total of eleven weeks in the Top 10, six of which were at #1.

Other big movers up in the business end of the chart include Australian staple Guy Sebastian, and up-and-comer Havana Brown, with Battle Scars (featuring Lupe Fiasco) and You’ll Be Mine, respectively. Guy’s jump was greater, charging up from #32 to #13, while Brown jumped from #26 to #17.

The highest debut for the week is Jason Derulo’s Pick Up The Pieces, which slipped in just outside the Top 40, at #41. Below him, at #56, entered fellow WMA artist, Birdy, with her hit sync/cover song People Help The People. Rita Ora’s R.I.P., Nickelback’s Trying Not To Love You and Conor Maynard’s Vegas Girl also entered this week, at #67, #70 and #76.


Battle Scars, the new urban-pop hit from Guy Sebastian featuring Lupe Fiasco, has debuted at #1, bumping down last week's #1–and fellow Sony-signed Aussies Justice Crew to #2 with Boom Boom. This mark's Sebastian's sixth #1 ARIA single, leaving him as the Australian with the third highest count of #1s in Australia, behind Delta and Kylie (at eight and ten respectively). Out of those six, it's interesting to note, four of the singles debuted in top spot.

Apart from the #1 debut for Guy, not too much happened in the Top 5, with Maroon 5's One More Night and Fun.'s Some Nights swapping positions #3 and #4 being about as exciting as it got. A little lower came the second highest debut of the week. The latest track from Taylor Swift, We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together, came out of the blue.

Although she has more #1 singles than Guy Sebastian, Delta Goodrem's Dancing With A Broken Heart entered the chart below Sebastian (below #1 you say?) at #15. Will the track get up to the top of the chart and keep the carrot away from Guy? Historically her #1 singles debut at #1, or somewhere inside the Top 5. So, it isn't looking great for this single. Delta has, however, always been known to surprise.


Another Sony win over on the albums chart, with The Sapphires' soundtrack jumping up from #5 to #1 this week, shoving down Ed Sheeran's + from pole position (after the crazy 42-week climb up to Top 50 to hit #1). Fun. kept it cool at #3, while Adam Brand's latest, There Will Be Love, entered the chart at #4. The ninth studio album from Brand marks his second Top 10 album, and his highest ever chart position on the ARIA Albums chart.

Missy Higgins' The Ol' Razzle Dazzle stuck it out at #6, while Karise Eden's My Journey slips done from #2 to #7 after six weeks at #1. Below at #11 entered another Australian outfit, Alpine, with A Is For Alpine. The album spent a few days at #1 on the iTunes chart last week, and scored a very strong debut as a result.

While there were some Bullet Performers and re-entries in the late teens to late thirties, it's not until #37 that we catch our third debut for the week: Far East Movement's Dirty Bass. Below, the Olympic Games music collection and Catherine Britt's Always Never Enough entered at #43 and #44 respectively.

- Thomas Gilmore, The Music Network